Independence Day

On February 17, 2008, Kosovo declared independence from Serbia. Four years later, Serbia still doesn’t recognize this independence, and tensions still abound. At this point, I don’t know enough to make any objective comments, but I will note this:

When I was in Belgrade (Serbia), the people I met discreetly expressed their concern about the situation; they said many innocent people  had suffered; now, they just wanted to the suffering to end. When I came to Kosovo, I heard the same. Although my time and exposure here have been limited, I have never heard anyone make a disparaging or malevolent remark about anyone else…except politicians.

Sounds a bit like home, eh?

I was surprised by how subdued the atmosphere downtown seemed. People were smiling and buying munchies and walking arm-in-arm, but there was nothing that I would describe as particularly celebratory; instead, the feeling was one of–for lack of better word–recognition. To use a Biblical analogy, every pearl has its price, and the price of this pearl has been great.

About David McTier

Professor of Theatre Department of Theatre & Musical Theatre Sam Houston State University