A Visit from the US Army

For our final rehearsal in the classroom, we were honored with a visit by three soldiers from the US Army: Staff Sergeant Sheppard (standing), Spc. Bradley (center), and Spc. Martin (right). All three are from my home state of Georgia!

By chance, I met Spc. Bradley on the boulevard downtown a couple of weeks ago. (Whenever I see Americans in uniform here, I stop and say hello.) I recognized her dialect and asked where she was from. Learning we were both from Georgia, we chatted a bit, and then I invited her to visit a rehearsal. Calls were made and permissions granted and voilà!

The soldiers watched a complete run-through of the play and then talked with the cast and gave them pointers to make the military aspects more authentic. I don’t think that any of my actors had met and talked with real American soldiers before. They were thrilled…as was I. Many thanks to these three and to all of our brave men and women in service.

I am very proud to say that I am the son of Chief Warrant Officer Lindy McTier (CWO3, US Army, Retired)
and the brother of Lt. Colonel Steven McTier (US Air Force, Retired).

For more pictures, go to my Facebook album.

About David McTier

Professor of Theatre Department of Theatre & Musical Theatre Sam Houston State University