KCACTF Workshop

PrintThis past Friday, I presented a talk about the Fulbright Scholar Program at the KCACTF Region 6 Festival in Shreveport, Louisiana. 8:30 in the morning is pretty early for theatre folks, but I had nine attendees: six students and three faculty members.

Before beginning, I asked one professor if she planned on applying. She said she probably wouldn’t because she wasn’t “smart enough.” I spent most of the next hour trying explain the many opportunities available and the importance of strategy rather than perceived “smarts.” To help illustrate this, I compared my Iceland (unsuccessful) and Kosovo (successful) application experiences.

I don’t know if any of the nine will apply, but I hope I so. I also hope to find more ways to share information about this incredible program and the opportunities available to my theatre colleagues.

About David McTier

Professor of Theatre Department of Theatre & Musical Theatre Sam Houston State University