Pre-Departure Orientation

Keynote Address during Lunch

Keynote Address during Lunch

For the past two days, I have been at the Pre-Departure Orientation (PDO) in Washington, DC, meeting with Fulbrighters who are about to head to Eastern Europe and the Balkans.

As a Returning Scholar, I was joined by a Returning ETA (English Teaching Assistant) to prep our delegation heading to Kosovo, which includes one faculty scholar, one student scholar, and five ETAs.

A new component of this year’s PDO was a Disciplinary Session during which I got to meet with all the visual and performing arts folks in attendance. We shared best practices as well as concerns. We all agreed that it is imperative that the arts continue to be represented in the Fulbright program.

Attending the PDO has been a bittersweet experience for me: I am so excited for those about to depart, but I so wish I could be going with them. Maybe in a few years…

About David McTier

Professor of Theatre Department of Theatre & Musical Theatre Sam Houston State University